Problem and Solution

I snaked this graphic from Western Rifle Shooters Association.

Interesting, comparing our present slavery to the outrage suffered by people with dark skin pigments in the early years of the republic. Then, as now, I’m sure there were slaves telling other slaves, “What the fuck is wrong with you? Rise up, revolt, resist!” And that would work, of course, if we were all built the same and had zero tolerance for abuse. But the problem is the conflict between our instinct for survival and our hatred of chains. We don’t want to die for a better life–we want to live!

I think the solution is in our human faculty of reason, which is temporary and fleeting. Moments of education, the word implies a “leading out of”, happen when we look up from the page and wonder. They do not happen when we shake our fists, or when our bellies growl or purr. Yet the growling and purring and looking up are all part of what makes us human, so deal with it we must.

 

Posted by Dave

 

3 Comments on “Problem and Solution”

  1. Craig Cavanaugh says:

    Ummmm…. Uhhhhh….. Yeah! I think? : )

    • Hi Craig,

      I was in an ethereal mood. Seriously, I chew on this subject all the time, and the only way I can figure out what I think about something is to write about it. If my writing is not clear, then neither are my thoughts. So I’ll go back to gnawing my knuckles.

      Dave

      • Craig Cavanaugh says:

        It’s clear, I was being facetious. Kinda hard to relay with just a smiley I guess : )


All comments are welcome.

