Strangling Us

Nice.

When I was a young man, I wanted a Corvette so bad I could taste it. It was not to be, because there were bills to pay and I needed a truck to get me and my tools to work. My first truck was a new ’75 Isuzu Pup, purchased on time for $2088. I sweated the $149 payments. When that truck wore out, I tried used trucks. I went through a succession of old beaters, thinking I could fix them up like new, for cheap. It didn’t work. The more things I fixed, the faster the trucks broke. So I finally settled on a strategy, if you can call it that, of buying the cheapest truck on the lot and driving it until it wasn’t dependable. I didn’t have an air-conditioned truck until the late 90’s. But through it all, I would loved to have bought a nice 4-wheel-drive truck, like the one pictured above.

Enter my golden years. A little more financially settled, not much wiser, but savvier. My lust for a Corvette is long over, but the yearning for a 4-wheel-drive truck is still with me. And I could probably afford one now, but there are problems. Work is sketchy and intermittent, and prudent purchases are necessary. I never know where my next job will be, or if there will be a next job. I could even deal with that, except for the next problem. Half the cost of keeping a truck for ten years is the insurance, DMV fees, and the sales tax from the purchase. Now I’ve had insurance on my vehicles since before it was “required.” It sticks in my craw that I’m forced to do something I would have anyway. Only now that it’s mandated, the cost is hugely inflated. The insurance companies have us by the balls and they know it. And sending sales taxes and DMV fees to the state so that they can pay more and more po-leece to harass us just doesn’t seem like a good idea.

So I have to wonder. How many others, like me, are digging in their heels and holding off on vehicle purchases because of out-of-control state governments? How many houses are not being built because of building departments and property taxes? How many tools are not being purchased because houses aren’t being built? The list of such questions is as endless as the “recession” is deep. Say all you want about how government “protects” us, “they” are strangling us. And we’re letting them.

Posted by Dave

7 Comments on “Strangling Us”

  1. China says:

    Amen Brother! Double face palm. Why do so many feel they need Gov to protect? I don’t get it!

    China
    III

  2. Art says:

    Hit the nail on the head Dave.
    I’m driving a 16 year old pickup.

    Red tie politicians talk about smaller gov.
    Blue tie politicians talk about cutting waste in gov.
    They both lie.

    The only question in my mind is which will die first, parasite? Or host?

    • Hi Art,

      “which will die first, parasite? Or host?

      That’s a money quote, right there! Not a lickspittle’s bit of difference between the reds and blues, but each election people think switching to the other color will “change” things.

      Dave

    • Art,

      On the subject of vehicles, my ride now has 125,000 miles on it. I keep it clean and maintained, so I’m hoping to get at least 250,000 miles.

      Dave

      • Craig Cavanaugh says:

        125k ain’t even broke in yet : ) My ol’ hauler has 207k and running stronger than a raped ape. She has “issues” of course, but nothing major.

        Yeah I miss my 4x4s. Had an ’81 K5 Blazer (my favorite of all) with a granny 4 speed and Detroit Locker in the rear. Hardly ever needed the 4WD with the locker. Then a ’92 S-10 4×4 with a 4.3 V-6, screamin’ little devil… The 3 inch lift and 31×10.50 all terrains let that truck go just about anywhere. Then my CJ-7… Loved that thing! I wish I had it now for Coastal PATCOM…

      • Hi Craig,

        Those are all enviable and manly machines.

        I had to get a part for Mrs. UC’s ride at the Toyota dealer last week. While there, I checked out the new trucks. A 4×4 Tundra goes for $42,000! WAY outa my league. The Tacoma is more reasonable, at $27,000.

        I’ll be keeping my Nissan Xterra for a long time.

        Dave


All comments are welcome.

