How’s That New Government Working Out, Pat?

You are not to inquire how your trade may be increased, nor how you are to become a great and powerful people, but how your liberties can be secured; for liberty ought to be the direct end of your government. 

Patrick Henry, 1788

My homeboy, Pat. He was pointed in the right direction, then he did a faceplant when he supposed the end of a government might be directed toward freedom. But there’s worse spokesmen for freedom–people who say the right thing for utterly wrong reasons. If you advocate freedom because you think it will make all of us(mostly yourself, but of course you can’t say that–it’s “selfish”) more prosperous or will better distribute goods and services, then you should quit wasting your breath. Freedom may bring out the best or the worst in humans, but the point is that it will bring something out. Christ, anything is better than the slow, gray shuffle in the DMV line that America has become.

Posted by Dave

6 Comments on “How’s That New Government Working Out, Pat?”

  1. Crankyyankee says:

    The short and simple, American government worked fine for 100 years, until intervention of a foreign controlled central banking system, whether they where trying to foist one upon us or we as victims were required to participate.

    Point to ponder, why did prohibition and it’s abolition require a constitutional amendment ?, yet every Bullshit law since then is U.S.C. ?

    Force and effect in law, actually none, but try to fight it, Good luck.

    Yeah, We Fucked, when the Shit hits the fan, try to behave nicely to those who deserve it, and there are still a lot of us around………………

    P.S. regardless of the above, I;m sure “Laura”, has some useless post about some liqueur she got whacked out on the past weekend. Taking her to task for “80’s” nonsense will get you banned.

    C’est La Vie………….

    • Hi Jerry,

      There’s a hell of a lot of Americans that think the government just needs its leash reattached. That’ll never happen, no matter how many bums we throw out. And no matter how short the leash, government will always be a “fearsome master.” There will always be politicians that want a central bank or a war or a great big tax or a new law to shackle us with. Nobody would have time to work if we watch our government 24/7 for signs of creeping despotism.

      Trying to convince 300 million people that they’d be better off without their damn government is futile. It’s easier to just exit to the nearest frontier. If only I could find that frontier.

      I read Laura, but I rarely comment. Her silly stuff is amusing, but have you ever read her “serious” writing? I don’t drink, but if it would help me to write like she does, I’d start right now.

      Dave

      • crankyyankee says:

        You know Dave, I’m not adverse to Government, the Mark Stevens, no government required, is a nonsensical fallacy.

        The limits have been “blurred”, simple as that. The Constitution was the “leash”, U.S.C. is the abuse there of.

        “Laura”, serious, so “thin-skinned”, that a “useless” Gent from CT. could achieve a “ban”…… consider that anomaly………….

      • Hi Jerry,

        “I believe that the finest qualities of man can flourish only in free air – that progress made under the shadow of the policeman’s club is false progress, and of no permanent value. I believe that any man who takes the liberty of another into his keeping is bound to become a tyrant, and that any man who yields up his liberty, in however slight the measure, is bound to become a slave.”

        H. L. Mencken

        Only the air of Anarchy is free enough for those finest qualities of man to flourish. There is no freedom under ANY government, just varying degrees of despotism.

        As for putting the leash back on the government, good luck. I don’t think it can be done. I’d rather take my chances with anarchy. I realize that’s an opinion that few share, and I won’t try to talk you out of your belief in government. I’d just like you to examine your beliefs, especially your most closely-held beliefs. I know that introspection is tough. To test my beliefs I read as many lefty blogs as I do anarchist blogs, and I’m always listening for a better idea.

        Dave

  2. crankyyankee says:

    Hey, I understand fully, “Those who desire power, don’t deserve to hold it” Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

    Hey, Dave, I believe in Government, as long as I’m in control, opps, must compute, must analyze………..

    Anarchy, do you really desire that ?, Trust me, you don’t want Anarchy. Freedom is just who has the bigger gun.

    I’m well equipped for anarchy, mentally, physically and materially, and that’s the last thing I want to see………………..

    Ever seen a country lacking rule………….

    • Hi Jerry,

      “If the natural tendencies of mankind are so bad that it is not safe to permit people to be free, how is it that the tendencies of these organizers are always good? Do not the legislators and their appointed agents also belong to the human race?”

      Frederick Bastiat

      It’d sure be nice to try Anarchy. If freedom didn’t “work”, then you and 299.9 million Americans could point to the failure and say, “See? I told you so!” But until then, I’ll live in my parallel universe where Unicorns eat cotton candy from trees and scamper playfully under rainbows. (A lefty blogger actually accused me of this.)

      Slavery is boring. It’s a waste of human potential.

      Dave


All comments are welcome.

