Just Seems So … Heartless

Nothing like a picture to start the eyes leaking.

25 35 Excellent Photos To Express The Poverty

What’s to do? “We” can’t just kick Gramps to the curb.

 Look me in the eye and say, “Screw’em. I don’t care what happens to them and I’m not going to spend a red cent on them.” Say this, and I will understand you.

 Fred Reed

image

If you want to help them, you won’t be stopped.

Ayn Rand

 

OK, so you’re either a bleeding-heart liberal, full of hand-wringing compassion for the poor; or a selfish, fuck-everybody, I-got-mine, Republican Tea-Bagger. Ouch! Some choice, huh?

If you advocate helping the poor, your unstated premise is that the “less fortunate” are incompetent and you want your neighbors “taxed” for the benefit of said poor. Tell me, how much compassion is there in insults and robbery? Also, I’ve long suspected that people who hand-wring over “the poor” secretly fear that they might fall into that group and need saving from their own incompetence.

On the other hand, the cut-taxes-so-the-lift-all-boats-boom-and-private-charities-will-save-the-lazy-good-for-nothing-poor side of the coin wants less robbery of their own wallet, but they share the same sneering contempt of poor people.

How about a third “viewpoint”?

Everyone talks about Grandpa or Grandma getting kicked out in the street, deprived of life-saving medicine, or “our” children going hungry. But just exactly whose Grandpa or Grandma is out there in the street, and why aren’t their kids and grandkids helping them. Ditto for homeless and hungry children–whose kids are they? If you don’t have relatives to mooch off, then you have failed as a human being, and you need to die immediately.

Note from Dave: The above is meant to stimulate thought. Sometimes my humor doesn’t “land”, and I’m mistaken for a heartless bastard.

 

Posted by Dave

3 Comments on “Just Seems So … Heartless”

  1. I’m one of the “Have No Family” sort. Oh, blood relatives I’ve got by the dozens (Irish breed like rabbits), but of family I have none.

    Instead, I have friends and gumption to substitute. It’s surprising how well that works out.

    • Hi Emily,

      I just read a Denninger article this morning. As a backup plan, he suggested patching it up with your relatives before the stuff hits the next fan. Since I’ve irreparably insulted almost all of my relatives, I’m kinda screwed there. So I’ll just have to rely on my strong back and my IQ of 64. (Almost 6 times my shoe size!)

      Thanks fer stopping by.

      Dave

      • That is one of his better ones. I wanted to cheer. I admit though, that when I read it what I was thinking was, “Those who will listen, don’t need to be told. Those who need to be told, won’t listen.”

        Such is life.

        I’ll probably be back. I like your sense of humor.


All comments are welcome.

