On Happiness

“I have now reigned above fifty years in victory or peace; beloved by my subjects, dreaded by my enemies, and respected by my allies. Riches and honors, power and pleasure, have waited on my call, nor does any earthly blessing appear to have been wanting to my felicity. In this situation, I have diligently numbered the days of pure and genuine happiness which have fallen to my lot: they amount to fourteen…”

Abdul-Rahman III

Mrs. UC calls me “Mr. Doom and Gloom”, even though I’ve always thought of myself as mostly cheerful and optimistic. Perpetually and irrepressibly happy people just don’t seem to be paying attention to current events.

I watched a movie this afternoon, Reign of Fire. Dragons had become the dominant species on Earth, but were slowly dying out for lack of humans to eat. The few remaining humans had a dilemma–wait for the dragons to die out or attack the dragons to speed things along. The dragons, on their own, might last a long time, and the humans were starving. On the other hand, attacking dragons was suicidal. I sat and thought about this plot while the movie was limping along. (Not a good movie.) This is the perfect metaphor for America. Wait for the collapse, or start armed resistance (suicide by cop).

Yes, I know this isn’t a very tight post. If you’re looking for brilliant commentary or witty repartee, see my blogroll.

Posted by Dave.

5 Comments on “On Happiness”

  1. Art says:

    Dave –
    Glad to hear I’m not the only one that spouse considered Doom&Gloom.
    Although I promoted myself to Dr. Doom … http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Doom

    Only two options? Wait or Suicidal Resistance?
    I guess I kind of like the old Soviet model of vodka fueled, passive/aggressive non-compliance and subversiveness. Doesn’t fit the Reign of Fire model. Certainly worked for Russians.

    Monkey Wrench for Freedom!

    Mucho thanks on the addy to your blogroll!

    • Underground Carpenter says:

      Hi Dr. Art Doom,

      I never developed a taste for liquor, but I suppose I could try. The John Galt approach might work if I could develop an invisibility ray. I knew I should have stayed in college and become a physicist.

      Yer welcome for the blogroll link, and thank you for same.

      Dave

  2. Craig Cavanaugh says:

    Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. I reckon I’d err on the side of “go down fighting”. That’s the Irish blood in me I suppose…

    • Underground Carpenter says:

      Hi Craig,

      My experiences fighting “authority” have been neither pleasant nor successful. In all of them I was surprised with ambush and overwhelmed. Imagine how fast we could turn this country around with a few well-planned ambushes of our own. (Ding! Idea for a short story, Craig.)

      Dave


All comments are welcome.

